The ceremony to award the Lord Byron Award of the SHP, in collaboration with the Academy of Athens, took place with great success. The Prize was bestowed to Ms. Kaja Kallas, Prime Minister of Estonia, at the Academy of Athens, on October 9, 2023, in the presence of representatives of the government, the political, academic and business community of the country. The ceremony was followed by a discussion – dinner at the Athens Club.

The Society for Hellenism and Philhellenism (SHP) established the International Lord Byron Prize in 2021, in collaboration with the Academy of Athens, in honor of the great poet and Philhellene.

The International Lord Byron Prize is awarded annually to important personalities from the political, cultural, academic, or business international arena, whose careers are characterized by a long-term philhellenic attitude or who have contributed to society with actions aligned with Hellenism’s values.

These individuals carry out their duties from their significant positions of responsibility in a manner entirely consistent with the principles and values of Philhellenism. They courageously address significant international crises and the impact of climate change while contributing remarkable work to society as a whole.

Each of the honorees receives a silver medal, a diploma, and a grant of $10,000 USD, donated in their name to a foundation of their choice engaged in activities that serve and promote Hellenic and Philhellenic values.

Links related to the ceremony:

Contact information: